Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Claydon Cyclones

About the team

Started by racing around the cinder car park of the local transport cafe beside the old A45 in Claydon Village.

Club Secretary: Vic Cubitt, Spring Cottage, Paper Mill Lane, Claydon.

Started racing as the Cyclones in 1947, riding on a meadow by the river(without the permission of the farmer!!)

Next track was at the Barham Broome(having been kicked off the meadow by the irate farmer).

Sunday mornings were race days, alternately home and away.

Midway through 1947 the Claydon Cyclones and Barham Bears amalgamated and rode individual matches amongst themselves.

There was no League racing in Ipswich during 1948/49, although two strong leagues existed in Norwich.

Moved to their new track behind the Greyhound Inn in June 1950, changing their name to the Claydon Greyhounds.

Individual Honours.

1948 Vic Cubitt & Bernard Morgan were joint club Individual Champions.

Team Honours.

1950 won the Suffolk Section of the News Chronicle Team Championships.


  • Eric Balaam
  • Mick Banyard
  • Monty Beaumont
  • Dick Benstead
  • Les Cubitt
  • Vic Cubitt
  • G. Doubleday
  • Pete Enfield
  • Kenny Fish
  • Stanley Ford
  • John Glazin
  • H. Holland
  • R. Holland
  • Les Hood
  • Kenny Keeble
  • R. Last
  • Bernard "Rocky" Morgan
  • Ioan Peters
  • Ken Rogers
  • Ernie Skinner
  • Ernie Smith
  • Charlie Webb
  • Brian Wolton