Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Sussex East: Fishersgate Flyers

About the team

Team formed in 1949 - closed in 1954.

The new track was opened in August 1950, and was built on the Fishersgate Recreation Ground, Fishersgate, Southwick(this being on the Western side of Brighton).

The site had originally been a bowling green, and then during the war housed a barrage baloon.

Size of track was 90yds long, with a cinder/ash surface & a concrete starting area.

Team Colours: Winged Wheel with "FF" on blue and yellow squares.

They rode for five seasons, but never joined a league, contenting themselves with challenge matches against teams East, West and North(many from London)as well as Essex, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Hampshire, this with great success, racing every weekend over a very long season. A match away to Fishersgate was very popular, as it allowed a night in Brighton afterwards, with a visit to the pier and other delights.

The team rode their last match at home in June 1954 against Horsmonden, and in February 1955 were declared defunct.

Test Match result held at Fishersgate on the 28th July 1951.

Fishersgate 40 - Sedlescombe 58.


  • Derek Banks
  • John Banks
  • Geoff Barnet
  • Tony Bowles
  • Billy Burden
  • Colin Carrington
  • Harry Drain
  • Bobby Dugard
  • Fred Emery
  • Derek Goddard
  • Brian Makepeace
  • Boyd Neal
  • Dan Nicholls
  • Jake 'Jako' Patterson
  • Johnnie 'Pat' Patterson
  • Barry Shapley(1951)
  • Ian Slater
  • Terry Smith
  • Dave Sopp
  • Pete Watson
  • Arthur Willard