Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Sussex East: Hollington Hammers

About the team

Team formed by local teenagers in 1949.

Altogether built three tracks within three hundred yards of each other, but unfortunately lost all three due to development.

1st track was in Bristol Road, opposite where "Evesham" now is, although at the time it was 'prefabs'. The track was approx 60 yards long.

2nd track was on the site of the old 'Pett Pond', which had been filled in ready for building works. This is now occupied by the Bristol Way flats. The track itself was right angles to Blackman Avenue, with the inside and outside edges painted white. It was approx 90 yards in circumference.

3rd track was in Blackman Avenue, St Leonards-on-Sea. This was on a field beside the road, now occupied by flats and shops.

Rode in the Hastings League 1950-1952.

Rode in the Sedlescombe League 1953-1954.

1953 signed Alf Marchant-Dennis & Godfrey Chatfield.

Team Managers: Mr D.W. Kirby, 17 Coventry Road, St Leonards-on-Sea.

Assistant Team Manager: Mr Fred Thomas.

Club Official: Bill Chatfield.

Stan Merrin, a local businessman, put up a cup for the club individual, known as the "Stan's Cafe Trophy".

The team lost their track prior to the finish of the 1954 season when flats and shops were built on the track site.

They built a new track off of Wishing Tree Road, opposite the Wishing Tree Pub, but disbanded shortly after this was completed.

Racing was on a Friday night.

Racing Results:

1950 Hastings League.  Hollington Hammers 35 - Ridge Eagles 48

Team Honours.

1951 won the Hastings Reserve League.



  • Don Bridger
  • Dennis Chatfield
  • Godfrey Chatfield
  • Paddy Downs
  • Tony Fleming
  • Michael Green
  • Rodney Green
  • T. Harris
  • C. Kirby
  • Derek Kirby
  • Alf Marchant
  • Brian Mepham
  • Ron Merrin
  • C. Pellett
  • Reg Spray
  • B. Upton
  • H. Upton
  • Leslie Upton
  • Frank Watson