Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Sussex East: Rye Aces

About the team

The track was on the Town Salts, Rye.

In September 1950, the Rye track was floodlit for the first time. In October of this year the Aces received the Criterion Cup from Harold McNaughton(ex Hastings Speedway Rider). This meeting was sponsored by a local cafe, which had cycle speedway pictures on it's walls. The year ended with presentations of 44 awards by former Hastings Speedway Rider, plus runner-up in the 1950 World Championship, Wally Green. Wally was also a renouned cycle speedway bike maker. The awards included cups and medals for Ridge Eagles who won the Hastings League, with East Hill as runners-up, and who rode in the Sussex final of the News Chronicle trophy against East Hill.  

Raced in the Sedlescombe League 1950-1953.

League racing took place on a Monday night.

Team Colours: Red and Black.

Club Chairman: Mr H.S. Playford, 2 Judge Place, Wish Street, Rye, Sussex.

Club Secretary: W. Gibbs, 42 Ferry Road, Rye.

Team Manager: Albert Booth.

In 1950 came runners up to Sedlescombe Saints in the Sedlescombe League.

In May 1951 the team made a tour of Glasgow, including a match at Ashfield Speedway stadium in front of a crowd of 10,000 people.

In the same month the club relaxed their "closed shop" rule, which stated that all riders must reside within a two mile radius of the town.

In 1952 the team went on tour to Manchester, riding four matches in all.

The team finally disbanded in 1953, the blame being put on "Apathy" by the club members. At the start of the season they were reported to have at least 25 riders.

Test Match result held at Rye on 15th May 1950.

Sedlescombe League 42 - Hastings League 64.

Team Honours.

1951 won the Criterion Cup, runners-up were Sidley Cyclones.


  • Derek Banister
  • Cecil Booker
  • Fred Booker
  • Rex Boreham
  • Bob Boswell
  • Michael "Micky" Bryant
  • Ken Donno
  • Brian "Gus" Gutsell
  • Brian Oliver
  • Bert Polley
  • Micky Robins
  • Rex Swain