Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Sussex West: Crawley Tigers

About the team

Track on Langley Green Playing Fields, Cherry Lane, Off Martrys Avenue, Langley Green.

Team formed in 1972.

Track Dimensions: 93 metres x 18 feet, Cinder surface.

Club Colours: Yellow/Black.

Club Secretary: Mrs J. Chalk, 23 Horsham Road, Pease Pottage, Crawley.

Club Secretary: Mr B. Brown, 13 Woodfield Close, Northgate, Crawley(1981/82).

Club Manager: R. Swaine(1978).

General Manager: Jack Lane.

Team Manager: Mike Green(1978).

Raced in the B.B.C. Radio London League 1981/82.

Individual Honours.

1977 Malcolm Lane won the British Under 18 at Bristol after a run-off with Ian Woodhouse(Southampton) runner-up and Colin Nicholls(Wednesfield) 3rd, all three riders having scored 17 points.

1978 Malcolm Lane(19) won the British Under 18 at Norwich, runner-up Ray Hall(18) Poole, 3rd was Paul Smith(Edmonton), after a run-off with Nicky Davies(Newport) 4th, Chris Madden(Crawley) 5th, and Alan Airey(Halifax) 6th, all four riders having scored 15 points. 

1978 Tony Birch won the Easter Youth Trophy at Poole, runner-up Paul Hulme(Blackley), 3rd Ian Middleton(Poole).

1979 Phil Clark(16) won British Under 21 Individual at Airport Road, Bristol, runner up Malcolm Lane(16), 3rd Phil Gard(16) Bournemouth.

1980 Chris Madden(17) won the British Under 18 at New Mills, runner-up Ade Gale(Poole) after a run-off with Calvin Stevens(Sandwell) both on 16.

1981 Malcolm Lane(18) won British Under 21 Individual at Hellesdon Community Centre, Norwich, runner up Mark Reed(16) Exeter, 3rd Ian Clarke(16) Stradbrook.

Team Honours.

1979 won the Radio London League, plus KO Cup winners.

1981 won the Radio London League on 34 points, runners up were Uxbridge on 27 points, 3rd were Hayes on 24 points.



  • Chris Bean
  • Tony Birch
  • Adam Bird
  • Darren Bird(1979)
  • Lee Butler
  • Phil Clark(1977)
  • Brian Cnudde
  • Nicholas Eaton
  • Mark Elmer
  • Mark Farrell
  • Mick Green
  • Glynn Griffiths
  • Shawn Hall
  • Malcolm Lane
  • Julien Lindford
  • Chris Madden
  • Russell Mikrut
  • Derek Palmer
  • Tony Selby
  • Billy Stacey
  • Alan Swaine
  • Ian Swaine
  • Roy Whiting


  • Richard Abbott
  • Steve Abbott
  • Patrick Bagansa
  • Tony Bean
  • Lee Benton
  • Adam Bird
  • Wayne Bonner
  • Tony Brown
  • Lee Butler
  • Phil Clark
  • Brian Cnudde
  • Michael Dann
  • Laine Eaton
  • Phil Gibson
  • Shawn Hall
  • Scott Hill
  • Raj Kumar
  • Malcolm Lane
  • Danny McCann
  • Chris Madden
  • Russell Mikrut
  • Steve Moody
  • Danny Pordage
  • Ian Swaine