Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Surrey: Chessington Aces

About the team

First track was in Ashley Avenue, Chessington(early 1960s), but the local council objected to this.

Permission was then given for a track to be built on land in Sandy Lane, but although work started on this, the project was abandoned.

2nd track was in Rectory Lane, Ditton, Surrey, this being the ex Ditton Devils Track(Raced here 1960 - 1964).

Club disbanded at the end of 1964.

Some riders joined the Tolworth club, and reformed the Tolworth Aces.

Club Founder/Manager: Dave Richards.

Club Secretary: Ray Harris, 157 Compton Crescent, Chessington, Surrey(1960).

Club Secretary: J. Mann, 74 Villiers Hill, Surbiton, Surrey(1964).

Team Manager: Ray Harris.

Club colours: Black & Gold breastplates.

Raced in the Home Counties Div 2 League 1963/64.

Interesting Facts.

In 1960 John Gould had an accident whilst making a "home made bomb", resulting in the loss of a finger.



  • Dennis Burge
  • Norman Churchouse
  • Tony Foster
  • Johnny Gould
  • Ray Harris
  • R. Harwood
  • Mick Henderson
  • J. Howes
  • R. Johnson
  • R. Knight
  • Keith Macatear
  • Norman Mann
  • Buddy McAlpin
  • Mick McAlpin
  • R. Pierce
  • Alan Whatley
  • D. Whatley

1960 - 1964.

  • Lew Bettsworth
  • Peter Bettsworth
  • Dennis Burge
  • John Dewar
  • Tony Foster
  • John Gould
  • Ray Harris
  • Mick Henderson
  • Paul Hilton
  • Norman Hunt
  • Derek Isaacs
  • Roger Kenward
  • Buddy McAlpine
  • Mick McAlpine
  • Robin Richardson
  • John Ridley
  • P. Saunders
  • A. Schofield
  • Ray Stamford
  • Alan Whatley
  • Trevor Winham(1960/61)


  • John Aldridge
  • Andy Evans
  • Graham Evans
  • Roger Ford
  • John Mather
  • S. Moyse
  • Steve Watson