Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hertfordshire: Clay Hill Aces

About the team

Club was formed in 1949 by Bernard Hart.

The track was in Southbury Road, Enfield.

This track was closed down by the new local vicar, moved to the old Frezzywater Pirates track.

Entered the Enfield League the following season(1950), coming a respectable 3rd.

Rode in the Hertfordshire League 1951/52/53/54/55/56.

Club President: Jeff Lloyd.

Club Secretary: Bernard Hart, 1 The Chase, Goff's Oak, Waltham Cross, Herts.

Club Manageress: Muriel Hart(wife of Bernard).

Club Honours.

1952 - 1953 & 1955 Herts League Runners-up.

1955 Hertfordshire League Champions. Also reached the County Team Championship Final.

1955 Were again Hertfordshire League Champions.

Individual Honours.

1954 Bernard Hart won the "Festival Trophy", the "Edmonton Saints" Trophy, as well as winning the Herts Individual Championship.


  • Eric Brewer
  • Vincent Brookes
  • Bryn Brunton
  • Alan "Sprocket" Doggett
  • Doug Gibson
  • Bernard Hart
  • Alan Hitch
  • Clive Hitch
  • Colin Hull
  • Alec Jones
  • John Mumford
  • Johnny Sayers
  • Brian Scott
  • Johnny Tulley
  • Don Washbourne
  • Alan Young