Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hertfordshire: Bushey Saints

About the team

Team formed in 1964 from the Bushey Kangaroos.

Track was in Windmill Lane Recreation Ground, Bushey Heath, Herts.

Club Secretary: Miss M. Courtnage, 10 Vega Road, Bushey, Herts(1965).

Club Manager: Frank Males, 85 Windmill Lane, Bushey, Herts(1965).

Became a member of the BCSF in 1964, racing in the Premier League.

Raced in Division 2 of the London & Home Counties League(1965).

Raced in the Middlesex Independent League 1965.

Changed name at the end of 1965, becoming The Saints CSC.

Team Honours.

1965 won Division 2 of the London & Home Counties League, being unbeaten all season.

1965 won the Four a-side Championship.

Interesting Facts(continued from Bushey Kangaroos).

Became the Bushey Saints in 1964, changing their name from the Bushey Kangaroos. They became members of the BCSF, and raced in the Premier League. Unfortunately, owing to the very heavy financial commitments and the long travelling distances involved in this league, they were forced to resign from the Premier League and rejoined the London & Home Counties League. The Saints had to start from the bottom again, and entered the 2nd Division of the League. They won the League at their first attempt, being unbeaten in this all season, resulting to an automatic promotion to division one of the league. They also won the four aside championship.

Frank Males announced his retirement from the sport at the end of the 1965 season, including his position as club manager, and although a replacement was sought, one could not be found. So a very successful Cycle Speedway Club came to an end, one which was widely hailed as the "Aces" of Herts, with the riders winning National, Area, County and local awards throughout this period. The End.

Speedway Riders.

Pete Saunders rode for Peterborough - Reading - Crewe and Oxford.


  • Frank Males
  • Pete Saunders