Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hertfordshire: E.A.C Hawks

About the team

Track was at the E.A.C Sports Ground in Green Lane, St Albans.

E.A.C = English Aircraft Corporation(Social & Sports Club).

Club Secretary: D. New, Walney House, Batchwood Drive, St Albans.

Raced in the Hertfordshire League 1951.

Sports Club Patron: R.H. Barbour Esq.

Sports Club President: J.R. Walton Esq.

Sports Club Chairman: A.L. Goode Esq.

General Secretary: R. Reid Esq.

Hon Treasurer: Miss A.E. Kingham.

Individual Honours.

Ken Cooper rode for England against Holland at the Empress Hall, London 1950.

Team Honours.

1951 won the Herts County Final at Cheshunt.

1951 won the Hertfordshire League.

Speedway Riders.

Clive Hitch rode for Rye House - Rayleigh - Swindon - Middlesborough - Coventry - Halifax - Exeter and Long Eaton.


  • Ken Cooper
  • Tom Drake
  • Ian Gilroy
  • Clive Hitch
  • Jackie Mayes
  • Rodney Pinnock
  • Mike Waldron