Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hertfordshire: Hitchin Aces

About the team

Team founded in 1946.

Founding members were George Prowse, Sid Springett & Ginner Williams.

First track was in the King George V playing field.

Second track was in Bury Mead Road, Hitchin(which is now an industrial centre).

Sam Masters helped in the building of the new track.

Rode club individuals first season as there were no funds to cover cost of travel.

As the team grew and the competition became stronger each member purchased a brand new bike from Munts at a cost of £27.00 each.

In 1947 due to excessive club numbers split into two separate teams, Aces & Hornets.

In 1949 the two teams once again amalgamated.

In 1950 the Aces had a very successful season, being unbeaten by the local teams.

1951 joined the Hertfordshire League, had to forfeit eight matches due to travelling difficulties.

Continued in the Herts league 1952/53/54.

Club Secretary: F. Aland, 112 Stevenage Road, Hitchin, Herts.

Team Manager: Horace Hutson.

Individual Honours.

Sid Springett and Ginner Williams were both selected to ride for England against Sweden.


  • Steve Crawford
  • Pete Ebers
  • Keith Hutson
  • Norman Hutson
  • Trevor Hutson
  • Jim Monk
  • George Prowse
  • Ray Smith
  • Sid Springett
  • Dave Tyler
  • Ginner Williams
  • Ken Woolard