Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Blackley Flyers

About the team

Track was at White Heather Camp, Heaton Park, Prestwich, Manchester.

Surface: Shale. Length: 73 yds. Grade 2

Club Secretary: Ken Taylor, 30 Parkfield Drive, Middleton, Nr Manchester.

Team Manager: Graham "Josh" Gleave(1960s).

Team Manager: Tony Mann(1970s).

Club Secretary: Graham Gleave, 103 Slack Road, Blackley, Manchester 9(1960s).

Club Secretary: Mike Hack, 36 Worcester Road, Alkrington, Middleton, Manchester(1974)

Raced mid to late 60s, then became the Panthers, reverting back to the Flyers at a later date.

Raced in the Manchester, Stockport & District League 1956.

Junior Riders raced in the Manchester Winter 'Satellite' League(North) in 1962/63 & 1963/64.

Raced in the Manchester, Stockport & District League(1965).

Raced in the Northern Premier League Div 1.

Team disbanded at the end of 1972, reformed again a season later.

Individual Honours.

1966 Graham Gleave won the Southend Grand Prix at Whitsun.

1966 Graham Gleave won the Lancashire Individual Championship with a 14 point tally at Openshaw. Runner up was John Watchman (Openshaw) on 13 points, Vinny Marsland finishing 3rd on 12 points. 

1968 Kevin Greenhalgh won the Midland Youth Championship after a run-off with Vic Haines(Hackney Cheetahs) and John Whiting, all three riders having scored 13 points. The match took place at the Perry Hall Track in Birmingham, and the presentations were made by Jim Airey, the Wolverhampton Wolves Speedway Rider.

1969 Kevin Greenhalgh won the National Individual scoring 14 points. Runner up was John Watchman, and 3rd was John Watling.

1969 Dave Wilson won the Blackley Trophy with 12 points, 2nd was John Watchman(Openshaw), 3rd Tom Daly(Sighthill), 4th Doug Noble(Ecurie Alba), all three riders scoring 11 points.

1969 John Whiting won the Midland Youth Championship with a 15 point max at Perry Hall Track, Birmingham. Runner up was his team mate Kevin Greenhalgh, with Vic Haines(Tottenham) in third place after a run-off with Kelvin Wilson(South London).

1970-72-73 Kevin Greenhalgh won the Manchester League Senior Individual Championship.

1972 Kevin Greenhalgh won the City & County Trophy at Bristol, runner-up Roger Ellis(Wednesfield), 3rd Geoff Patman(Bristol).

1973 Kevin Greenhalgh won the City & County Trophy at Bristol, runner-up Tam Low(Bristol), 3rd John Watchman(Blackley).

1975 Kevin Greenhalgh won the City & County Trophy at Bristol after a run-off with Roger Ellis(Wednesfield), 3rd John Watchman(Blackley).

Team Honours.

1965 National Junior Team Champions Runners-Up. Whoberley Witches(Warks) 44 - Blackley Flyers 33.

1966 National Junior Team Champions, beating Uxbridge Pirates (Middlesex) 43 - 34 at Southampton.

1967 National Junior Team Champions, beating Openshaw Monarchs (Lancs) 46 - 32 at Carrswood, Cheshire.

1968 winners of the Manchester League with maximum points.

1969 won the National Champions Trophy, runners-up Whitley Rangers(Warks).

1970 National Team Champions, beating Offerton 54 - 42.

1972 National Team Champions Runners up, being beaten by Offerton in the Final.

1975 National Junior Team Champions beating Woodside Diamonds(Yorks) 45 - 33 at Brandon(Suffolk).

Speedway Riders.

Alan Armstrong rode for Middlesborough.

Ian Armstrong rode for Workington.

Bernie Collier rode for Belle Vue.

Keith Evans rode for Stoke - Sheffield and Scunthorpe.

John Hack rode for Oxford and Cradley Heath.

Dave Kumota rode for Workington.

Bernard McArthur rode for Belle Vue and Sheffield.


  • Alan Armstrong
  • Ian Armstrong
  • Steve Bates
  • .... Benyon
  • Mick Berry
  • Steve Berry
  • Kevin Brennan
  • Frank Brierley
  • Bernie Collier
  • A. Drogan
  • K. Elliott
  • Keith Evans
  • J. Gartley
  • Graham "Josh" Gleave
  • Mark Golding
  • .... Graham
  • Kevin Greenhalgh(1965-72)
  • John Hack
  • Hughes
  • Dave Kumota
  • Bernard McArthur
  • Dave McMullen
  • Brian Murphy
  • John Pixton
  • Eric Power
  • Ken Taylor
  • M. Turner
  • Alan Warrender
  • John Watchman
  • Steve Whitehead
  • John Whiting
  • Ian Whittle
  • M. Wilding
  • Dave Wilson