Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Blackley Panthers

About the team

Original track was at Heaton Park, Prestwich, Manchester. Affectionally known as the "White Heather Camp".

Track Dimensions: 78yards x 18ft, Red Shale surface.

Club Colours: Black with Red socks.

Originally the Blackley Monarchs, who disintegrated at the end of the 1972 season with the departure of Josh Gleave to South Africa.

Team Manager: Tony Mann

Club Secretary: K. Greenhalgh, 1 Ruston Avenue, Leigh, Lancs(1978).

Team Manager: R. Levy(1978)

Team Colours 1980s: Black Trousers/Socks & Red Tops with White writing.

New track officially opened on the 15th August 1981 in Broadhurst Park, Moston, Manchester. The club played host to several official guests, including Manchester City Council's Landscape Architect Mr Peter Whitbread, plus fellow officers Jim Goodwin and Tony Sainsbury, as well as Greater Manchester County Councillor Mrs D. Dingwall. A match was held between the North of England and the British Lions, which the North won 101 - 75. For the North Jeff Weaver scored a faultless max, and for the Lions Pip Serbert set a new track record for the 84 yard circuit of 44.2 seconds. 

Individual Honours.

1968 John Whiting came 3rd in National Individual Final at Hungerford.

1969 Kevin Greenhalgh(14) won British Individual Championship at Brookside Road, Gatley, Cheadle, Cheshire, runner up John Watchman(13) Openshaw, 3rd John Watling(12) Denton.

1972 Kevin Greenhalgh came runner up in National Individual at Halifax.

1975 John Watchman came runner up in National Individual Final at Tame Street, Manchester.

1975 Kevin Greenhalgh won the first Cycle Speedway Handbook Trophy at Crawley. Runner up was George Russell(Offerton), 3rd Martin Jarvis(Beckenham), and 4th John Colbert(Hawkinge). The meeting was sponsored by Mike Green, the winner receiving a brand new chrome plated Cycle Speedway Bike.

1976 John Watchman(17) won British Individual Championship at King George V Playing Field, Grays, Essex runner up John Colbert(16) Thurrock, 3rd Kevin Greenhalgh(16) Blackley.

1977 Kevin Greenhalgh came runner up in National Individual Final at Airport Road, Bristol.

1977 Kevin Greenhalgh(19) won the Poole Laurels. Rob Haywood(15) came runner-up after a five man run-off. 3rd was Dennis Torr, with Colin Wheeler, John Watchman & John Bryant being the other riders in the run-off.

1978 John Watchman(17) won British Individual Championship at Hellesdon Community Centre, Norwich(2nd time), runner up Roger Ellis(16) Wednesfield, 3rd Kevin Greenhalgh(16) Blackley, 4th Colin Wheeler(16) Southampton.

1979 Kevin Greenhalgh won the Handbook Trophy at Crawley, runner-up Pip Serbert(Halifax), 3rd Ian Lawrence(South London).

1979 John Watchman came runner up in National Individual Final at Leicester.

1979 Les Bowden(19) won the Easter Youth Trophy at Poole, runner-up Ray Hall(18) of Poole after a run-off with Paul Hulme, 

1980 Kevin Greenhalgh(16) came runner up in the National Individual Final at New Mills. Winner was Pip Serbert(17) Halifax, 3rd Phil Pilbrow(15) Norwich.

Team Honours.

1975 won the National Team Championship at Brandon(Suffolk). After 18 heats the two teams were level on 54 points apiece. Two tie break heats later the scores were still level. The third tie break saw Mick Aris shoot from the gate, hotley pursued by Kev Brennan, with Kevin Greenhalgh keeping Alan Guest at the rear of the field. Alan overcooked it going into the bend and slid off, allowing Kevin to give chase after Mick Aris. Within one lap he was snapping at Micks rear wheel, sweeping inside Aris on the final bend to record a 6-4 advantage, enough to take the title.  Final Score: Blackley Panthers 70 - Wednesfield Aces 68.

1978 British Team Champions Runners-Up. Wednesfield Aces 94 - A.S.C. Blackley 81. At Southampton.

1979 won the Corona British Team Championships, beating Thurrock 89-84 at Norwich.

1979 won the Poole Fours in Dorset.

1979 won the Fiesta Fours at Ashmore Park, Wednesfield.

1980 won the National Senior Team Championship, beating Thurrock by 89 - 84 points at Sandwell.


  • Alan Armstrong
  • Mike Berry
  • Steve Berry
  • Kevin Brennan
  • Stu Broadfield
  • Steve Davidson
  • Steve Flynn
  • Graham "Josh" Gleave
  • Kevin Greenhalgh
  • John Hack
  • Mike Hack(capt)
  • John Pixton
  • Eric Power
  • Ken Taylor
  • Dennis Torr
  • John Watchman
  • Steve Whitehead
  • John Whiting
  • Dave Wilson


  • Alan Armstrong
  • Steve Beeney
  • Les Bowden
  • J. Bradshaw
  • K. Bradshaw
  • Kevin Brennan
  • Stuart Broadfield
  • Tony Carey
  • P. Chambers
  • Bernie Collier
  • Steve Crook
  • Steve Davidsin
  • A. Donnelly
  • Derek Garnett
  • Graham "Josh" Gleave
  • Kevin Greenhalgh(capt)
  • John Hack
  • Mike Hack
  • Paul Hulme
  • Steve Mann
  • Kevin Royal
  • Dave Torr
  • Dennis Torr
  • John Watchman
  • John Whiting


  • Les Bowden
  • John Burke
  • John Burston
  • Steve Davidson
  • Derek Garnett
  • Kevin Greenhalgh
  • Paul Hulme
  • Pip Serbert
  • Dennis Torr
  • John Watchman
  • John Whiting