Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Droylsden Monarchs

About the team

1st track was in Edge Lane, Droylsden.

2nd track was built in 1971/72 by the Council in Greenside Lane, Droylsden.

Individual Honours.

1975 Paul "Oggie" Ogden won the National Junior Final at Gorton(Manchester) with 12 points, runner up was Chris Strutt(Basildon) after a run-off with Paul Hulme(Denton), both riders scoring 10 points. Paul Hulme was excluded in the run-off for touching the tapes.



  • Nigel Brocklehurst
  • Mark Harris
  • Ted Hensall
  • Steve Howe
  • Ken Joby
  • Tommy Lawton
  • Barry Lomax
  • Alan Macklin
  • Shaun McConnell
  • Paul "Oggie" Ogden
  • Dave Seddon
  • Paul Stockton
  • Billy Walker