Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Gorton Diamonds

About the team

Track was on Greenfields Sports Ground, Alston Road, Gorton, Manchester.

Another track was next to Mellands playing fields.

A new £1,500 track was built in 1972 in Debdale Park, this officially being opened on 25th March 1973. Unfortunately the track attracted considerable attention from vandals, having deep holes dug into the track surface. The Manchester Parks Police were quick to act, and issued pass-cards to all the Gorton Riders. Anyone who hadn't a pass-card was quickly moved on by the Police complete with guard dogs. Unfortunately, three Gorton Riders who had forgotten their cards were also swiftly moved on!! 

The Club announcer was Keith Knights, who was also the well known announcer at Belle Vue Speedway on a Saturday night. Unfortunately he died suddenly from a heart attack on the 8th December 1973, aged just 41.

Team Manager: Keith Wingrove.

Team Honours.

1971 National Junior Team Champions, beating Offerton Devils(Cheshire) 42 - 36 at Uxbridge, Middlesex.

Club Honours.

The 1975 British Under 18 Individual Final was held at Greenfield Sports Ground, Gorton. The Referee was Mr Harry Glover(Leicester). The winner was Paul Ogden(Droylsden-Manchester) with 12 points, runner-up was Chris Strutt(Basildon-Essex) after a run-off with Paul Hulme(Denton-Manchester), both riders scoring 10 points. Other scorers: Steve Stringer(South Yorkshire) 9, Paul Russo(Tottenham) 9, Steve Davidson(Blackley) 9, John Smith(Bow-London) 8, Malcolm Lane(Crawley-Sussex) 8, Ian Cox(Woodside) 8, Chris Bartlett(South London) 6, Chris Harrison(Leicester) 6, Tony Birch(South London) 6, Steve Howe(Droylsden) 5, Dave Birch(Gorton) 3, Dave Bennett(Woodside) 3, Ian Swaine(Crawley) 3.

Speedway Riders.

Steve Casey rode for Belle Vue.


1970 +

  • Dave Berrisford
  • Dave Birch
  • Billy Bradley
  • Steve Casey
  • Brian Eaton
  • D. Evans
  • Roger Farrell
  • Dave Howarth
  • Peter Lomax
  • S. Lyons
  • Steve Mills
  • Dave Morgan
  • Glen Rutherford
  • Pete Ward
  • Ian Warriner(1970)
  • S. Whareham
  • D. Whitehead
  • D. Whitehead
  • Ian Wilson
  • Martin Wright
  • George Yacoby