Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Tameside CSC

About the team

1st Track was in Tame Street Park, Denton. Again lost this due to development.

2nd track was a council built track at Longdendale Sports Centre, Mottram, this being opened by an Tameside v England Select meeting in 1987.

3rd track was St Thomas's Park, where they moved to in 2003.

Originally called Gorton Pirates, who were formed in 1957, they changed their name to Denton Pirates in 1969 after losing their original track to development.

Became Tameside CSC in 1984 - 2005, changing their name from Denton Pirates.

Raced in the National League from 1982 under the Tameside 'Don Millers' name.

Club Chairman/Team Manager/Secretary: Dave "Blinner" Blinston.

Assistant Manager: Alan Taylor.

Changed their name once again in 2006, this time becoming Stockport 2006 CSC.

Individual Honours.

1991 Andrew Jackson(17.5)won the British Under 21 Individual at Newfoundland Drive, Poole, runner up John Weston(17.5) Poole, 3rd Andy Palmer(17) Wednesfield.

1993 Andrew Jackson(19) won the British Under 21 Individual at Longdendale Sports Centre, Tameside, runner up Darren Gumbley(18) Birmingham, 3rd Paul Share(17) Sandwell.

1994 Chris Wheatley(19) won British Under 21 Individual at Perry Hall Playing Field, Birmingham, runner up Craig Marchant(16) Leicester, 3rd Richard Bessant(15) Exeter

Team Honours.

Won the British Junior Team Championship in 1976 and 1993.

Junior Team Finalists in 1977 and 1992.

Reached three British Senior Team Finals in 1973,1974 and 1977.

Club Honours.

The 1993 British Under 21 Individual Final was held at Longdendale Sports Centre. The Referee was Mr Pete Dalley(West Midlands. The winner was Andrew Jackson(Tameside-Manchester) on 19 points, the runner-up was Darren Gumbley(Birmingham) on 18 points, 3rd was Paul Share(Sandwell-West Midlands) with 17 points. Other scorers: Lee Benton(Thurrock-Essex) 16, Jon Walker(Sandwell) 15, Mark Whitehead(Leicester) 15, Stephen Ward(Stockport-Cheshire) 13, Neil Howarth(Bury-Manchester) 11, Lee Byford(Ipswich-Suffolk) 11, Neil Lester(Thurrock) 11, Kevin Burns(Leicester) 9, Neil Wragg(Leicester) 9, Craig Marchant(Leicester) 9, Kraig Garland(Stockport) 8, Geoff Farrell(Tameside) 8, Mark Tollett(Tameside) 5.

Speedway Riders.

Drew Jackson rode for Buxton.


  • Tony Bickerdike
  • N. Brockelhurst
  • Jason Burke
  • David Butler
  • Andy Chadwick
  • C. Dent
  • Graham Dent
  • Brian Eaton
  • Roger Farrell
  • Anthony Graham
  • Mark Hammersley
  • N. Hickman
  • Mark Mulvey
  • Paul Ogden
  • Paddy .......
  • A. Ratcliffe
  • Brian Worsley


  • D. Artingstall
  • Craig Barr
  • Anthony Bickerdike
  • Dave Blinston
  • Ian Clarke
  • Graham Dent
  • Roger Farrell
  • Paul Fisher
  • Kraig Garland
  • Anthony Graham
  • Mark Hammersley
  • Paul Hulme
  • Trevor Hulton
  • Dave Kenyon
  • Paul Ogden
  • Sandy Powell
  • Simon Smith
  • W. Spence
  • Ken Taylor
  • Mark Tollett
  • Daniel White
  • Pete Young(1986-87)


  • Chris Davis
  • Geoff Farrell(1993)
  • Kraig Garland
  • Anthony Graham
  • Ian Graham(1993)
  • S. Hall
  • Andrew Jackson(1991-93)
  • Kevin Marsh
  • Chris Moorcroft(1994)
  • Mark Tollett
  • Stephen Ward