Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Dorset: Poole Comets

About the team

Club officially formed at a general meeting on 15th November 1974.

Track was in Stanley Green Park, Wimborne Road, Fleetsbridge, Poole.

Track Dimensions: 82yards x 6yards, limestone dust surface.

Club Colours: Red/Black/White.

Many stories preside of the building of the track, with diggers and bulldozers stuck in the mud. Roger Nicholson, Martin Ricketts and Colin Sanders spent much of their time working on the track in the rain.

The track was officially opened at Easter 1975, and the curtain raiser was an English League derby match against Southampton, which Poole narrowly won in the last heat 89 - 88.

On land owned by Whitelocks(builders).

Club President: Mr John Whitelock.

Vice President: Andrew Bright.

Club Secretary: Colin Sutton.

Club Treasurer: Rob Haywood

General Manager: Graham Sutton(1978).

Team Manager: Colin Sutton(1978).

Club Secretary: D. Slater, 5 Apsley Crescent, Poole(1978).

Further Positions: Andy Bright(P.R.O); Colin Sanders(track manager); Roger Nicholson(coach).

In 1979 plans were being made to move the club from Wimborne Road to a new track near Harbour Shore, Baiter(now known as Harbourside Park).

In April 1981 Cycle Speedway's first Regional Centre was officially opened by the town's Mayor, Alderman Fred Harris, who was accompanied by Graham Sutton. The grand opening was followed by a match between the Poole club and the British Lions, who were the eventual victors by 97 points to 81 points. Newly crowned World Master Phil Pilbrow set a track record when he won heat twelve in 40.13 seconds.

Individual Honours.

1975 Derek Knight(18) won the English League Riders Senior Final at Bristol, runner up Roger Ellis(18), 3rd Colin Wheeler(16).

1977 Derek Knight won the English League Riders Senior Final.

Team Honours.

1976 Runners up in English League Division One.

1976 Won the English League Division Two.

1977 Won the Corona British National Junior Team Final at Edmonton, beating Denton by 107 - 72 points.

1978 Won the Corona British National Junior Team final at Southampton, beating Bristol by 107 - 69 points.


  • John Bryant
  • Dave Butcher
  • Mike Cake
  • Andy Carry
  • John Carry
  • Bob Cartridge
  • Adrian Gale
  • Martin Gale
  • Dave "Freddy" Garrett
  • Dave Gravell
  • Ray Hall
  • Steve Hardy
  • Rob Heywood(capt)
  • Ian Kiddle
  • Ian Kitcher
  • Derek Knight
  • Arthur Lawrence
  • Don McQuade
  • Simon Merritt
  • Ian Middleton
  • Tony Nation
  • Martin Ricketts
  • Pete Ross
  • Colin Sanders
  • Ian Scovell
  • Graham Stoakes
  • Colin Sutton(capt)
  • Graham Sutton
  • Leigh Town
  • Ken Wiffen
  • Pete Woodford