Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Dorset: Upton Eagles

About the team

Track was in the grounds of Upton House, situated down Ropers Lane.

Club Secretary: W. Sharratt, 3 Poole Road, Upton, Poole, Dorset.

Club Secretary/Manager: R. Bartlett, 5 Chelmsford Road, Upton, Poole, Dorset(1960s).

In 1961 entered the new Poole & District League.

Individual Honours.

1961 Alan Fripp won the Poole Junior Championship, runner-up was Colin Sanders(Poole Meteors).


Poole & District League 1961.

  • Alan Bartlett
  • Dave Cox
  • Ron Evans
  • Alan Fripp
  • Alan Hansford
  • Keith Hansford
  • John Redfern
  • Colin Yates
  • Ron Yates


  • John Carry
  • Phillip East
  • Dave Gravell
  • Derek Knight
  • Dave Lacock
  • Andy Lake
  • Steve LeMoignan
  • Don McQuade
  • Martin Ricketts
  • Pete Ross(capt)
  • Dave Slater
  • Greg White
  • Ken Wiffen