Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hampshire: Vickers Viscounts

About the team

Team was formed in 1958 by Jim Cooke.

They used the Bransgore Cycle Speedway track during this season.

In 1959 the team moved to the old Mudeford Track at Scotts Hill Lane.

Team entered the Hampshire League in 1959.

Name originated from the Vickers Aircraft/Engine Corporation and the team was part of the Vickers Sports & Social Club.

Club Secretary: Jim Cooke, 23 Maxwell Road, Bournemouth.

Individual Honours.

1958 Jim Cooke won the New Forest Individual Championship(2nd time).

1959 Jim Cooke won the Hampshire Individual Championship at Burley(2nd time).


  • John Adams
  • M. Barrett
  • Ian Bennett
  • Barry Black
  • G. Cook
  • Jim Cooke
  • Ted Fall
  • Dave Lock
  • Ron Lockyer
  • Mike Palmer
  • Ken Pitfield
  • Mike Sedgewick
  • Les Snow
  • T. Tall
  • .... Weight