Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Leicestershire : Belgrave Red Devils

About the team

1st track was at Melton Road Bus Terminus, Leicester.

2nd track was at Slater Street, Leicester.

This track being shared with Aylestone Aces.

Originally the Belgrave Battleaxes, name changed 1955/6.

Team Colours: Black(Dusty Grey) with a Red Insignia.

Managers Name: Jock Mcpate 1953/7.

Club Secretary: Dave Brant, 52 Dunsholme Road, Leicester.

Club Secretary: J. McPate, 24 Canon street, Belgrave, Leicester(1960s).

Club Secretary: Harry Glover, 19 Abbey Drive, Leicester.

Raced in the Leicester League North.

Raced in the National League 1961(1st season of this new league).

Site now occupied by Rushey Mead School(2011).

Individual Honours.

1959 John Greaves(12) won the Leicester Individual Championship after a run-off with Paul Smith. 3rd was Jeff Pickering(11) after a run-off with Naylor.

Team Honours.

1952 Leicester North Division One Champions.


  • Stanley Ackroyd
  • Mike Barsby
  • Col Beeby
  • T. Bloxham
  • Dave Brant
  • G. Busby
  • Phil Clark
  • Bas Cooper
  • Rob Cooper
  • John Cross
  • Barrie Dent
  • James "Cron" Dent
  • Chris Evans
  • Johnny Faye
  • Harry Glover
  • .... Gough
  • John Greaves
  • Alan "Killer" Kilby
  • Chris Lymn
  • .... Naylor
  • Jep Newberry(capt)
  • Geoff Pickering
  • Peter Rawson(vice capt)
  • Reg Robson
  • .... Shaw
  • Johnny Simpson
  • Paul Smith
  • Tony Smith
  • Dave Thomas