Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Leicestershire : Leicester Allstars

About the team

Team formed from the defunct Coalville Stars & Belgrave Red Devils around 1958.

Track in Slater Street, Frog Island, Leicester. This track was originally built in 1950.

Team Manager: Maurice Barks.

New Team Manager: Mr M. Halford.

Club Secretary: Mr B. Peel, 79 Martin Street, Leicester.

Club Secretary: Chris Lymn, 68 Parker Drive, Leicester.

Raced in the Federation League.

Individual Honours.

1958 Johnny Simpson won the Leicester Senior Championship.

1959 Frank Stephenson won the Leicestershire Junior Campionship.

Team Honours.

1958 were the Leicestershire League Champions.

1959 were the League Champions, as well as the Summer Cup Winners.


1950s - 60s.

  • Michael "Dickie" Bird
  • Dave Brant
  • Wilson Burns
  • Phil Clark
  • Rob Cooper
  • John Cross
  • Chris Evans
  • Harry Glover
  • Phil Hagen.
  • Malcolm "Flyer" Halford
  • Bruce Heath
  • C. Lowe
  • Chris Lymn
  • .... Naylor
  • Jep Newberry(vice capt)
  • Geoff Pickering
  • Pete Rawson(capt)
  • Tommy Ruave
  • John Sanderson
  • B. Simpson
  • John "Pete" Simpson
  • Pete Smith
  • Frank Stevenson
  • Ian Vintner
  • Bruce Ward
  • Grant Warwick