Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Warwickshire: Warwick Royals

About the team

Raced on the old Blue Diamonds track, having spent a £300 Council Grant to refurbish the track.

Track at Lammas Field, The Racecourse, Warwick.

Raced friendlies during 1973, joining the Coventry & District League in 1974.

Raced in the Midland League.

Club started by some of the riders racing on the defunct Warwick Blue Diamonds track on the Racecourse.

Wes Plummer(a parent) took on the early responsibility of club manager, and organised friendly matches.

He also persuaded the local council to provide a new shale topping and flagstones for the pit area.

Many say that without Wes there would have been no Warwick Royals CSC.

Club Secretary: Wes Plummer, 7 Sandyers Close, Emscote, Warwick.

2nd Club Manager: Geoff Lees.

Club Manager/Treasurer: Steve Hewitt, 31 Wordsworth Road, Wyken, Coventry(1977).

Club Secretary: Phil Jackson, 4 Abbey Cottages, Binley, Coventry(1977).



  • J. Albcott
  • Steve Blower
  • Mike Botterill
  • Richard Broad
  • Tony Cluley
  • Les Collins
  • T. Dean
  • Paul Devine
  • Kevin Dickinson
  • M. Downs
  • Martin Elkin
  • Dave Foster
  • John French
  • Kenny Green
  • Steve Hewitt(capt)
  • Mike Hudson
  • Phil Jackson
  • A. Kerrfoot
  • Pete Lawrence
  • A. Lee
  • Jim O'Riordan
  • G. O'Rourke
  • James Piggott
  • Phil Rees
  • John Reynolds
    Barry Shapley
  • Ian Sharp
  • David Taylor(capt)
  • Mark Taylor
  • Robin Wallsgrove
  • Jeff Ward
  • John Ward
  • Rob Warnes