Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Birmingham Lions

About the team

Club Founded in 1947 by Charlie Humphrey on a bomb site in Balsall Heath Road, opposite the Lyttleton Pub.

Track had floodlights, Safety Fence and Public Address System.

Race meetings pulled in regular attendances of 2,000 plus.

Joined the Birmingham & District League in 1948.

Club Manager/Secretary: Mr Gould(Taxi Firm Owner).

Team Manager: Mr Meadows.

Fred L. Goode joined in 1948(became the club manager): 94 Balsall Heath Road, Birmingham 5.

Fred died at the age of 69 on August 10th 1972. He was a Churchillian figure, always complete with cigar and a smile on his face.

Club Secretary: Brian Buck, 54 Herbert Road, Small Heath, Birmingham 10.

Due to continual vandalism of the Balsall Heath Road track, they moved to the Elmdon Track in 1961.

Withdrew from the League in 1961 due to lack of own track and rider numbers.

Reformed in 1962 with a group of former Junior riders from the Hagley Comets, moving to the old Quinton Racers track in Kent Road, Quinton.

This track had not been ridden on for over seven years, and was completely neglected and overgrown. The track was well over 100yds long, straights were 30 feet across, with the bends even wider.

Raced in the Birmingham League 1964.

Eventually became the Sandwell CSC.

Interesting Facts.

Basil Wainwright was infamously known for conning Noel Edmunds out of about £7 million.

Team Honours.

1951 Were the losing semi finalists in the National Team Championship, being beaten by Carrs Wood Hunters at Leicester.

1953 were the Warwickshire League Champions.

1959 Were the losing semi finalists in the National Team Championship, being beaten by Lindale Lions(Bradford).

Individual Honours.

1954 W. Sollis won the Warwickshire Individual Championship.

1958 Johnnie Kiernan won the U15 Warks Individual Championship

1958 Graham Sedgeley(14) won the Birmingham Senior Individual Championship, Ewie Edwards(13) was runner-up, and Willie Evans(10) of Kingstanding was 3rd after a run-off with Gerry Kean(also Kingstanding).

1960 Ewie Edwards came runner up in National Individual Final.


  • R. Aston
  • C. Austin
  • D. Barnes
  • Tony Bastable
  • Phil Birch
  • D. Bird
  • Graham Brimmell
  • Brian Buck
  • Bert Butterworth
  • John Chaplin
  • .... Clift
  • .... Dawkins
  • Kevin Dorney
  • R. Dorney
  • Peter Doherty
  • Tony Doherty
  • Ewart "Ewie" Edwards
  • .... Elliott
  • R. Faith
  • Colin Fogg
  • Geoff Gillett
  • Ray Goode(capt)
  • P. Gould
  • J. Hadley
  • Graham Hancox
  • Taffy Hill
  • John Hollis
  • Archie Hollyoake
  • Geoff Jones
  • Colin Jukes
  • Dickie Kiernan
  • Johnnie Kiernan
  • Paddy Kiernan
  • R. McGowan
  • Ken Meddings
  • Maurice Newby
  • .... Nisbet
  • K. Nock
  • Johnny Palmer
  • Jake Quinton
  • Jim Quinton
  • Nigel Rainer
  • Colin Reeve
  • J. Round
  • Bernard Ryder
  • Gerald Sedgley
  • Harold Smith
  • W. Sollis
  • Geoff Tapp
  • Mick Taylor
  • Norman Thompson
  • .... Tranter
  • Chris Turley
  • .... Vale
  • Basil "Hank" Wainwright
  • Dave Wheeler
  • Michael Williams
  • Peter Williams