Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Birmingham Stars

About the team

Track was on Perry Hall Playing Fields.

Track was opened in 1963.

Individual Honours.

1983 Jim Varnish(17) won British Under 21 Individual at Airport Road, Bristol, runner up Tim Snook(17) Great Blakenham, 3rd Andy Barnes(15) Poole.

1984 Jim Varnish(20 max) won British Under 21 Individual at Pheonix Park, Wolverhampton, runner up Martin Gale(18) Poole, 3rd Shawn Hall(18) Crawley.

1984 Jim Varnish(17) won British Senior Individual Championship at King George V Playing Field, Grays, Essex, runner up Colin Wheeler(16) Southampton, 3rd John Watchman(15) after a run-off with Glyn Whale, Tim Snook and Tony Birch. 

1985 Jim Varnish(19) won World Masters at Reserve Parade, Findon, South Australia, runner up Tim Snook(17) Ipswich, 3rd Martin Jarvis(16), 4th Alan Miller(16) Bristol.

Club Honours.

In 1994 the last British Under 21 Individual Final was held at Perry Hall Playing Field. The Referee was Mr Paul Hitchcox(Wiltshire). The winner was Chris Wheatley(Sandwell-West Midlands) on 19 points, runner-up was Craig Marchant(Leicester) with 16 points, 3rd was Richard Bessant(Exeter) on 15 points. Other scorers: Kevin Burns(Leicester) 14, Stuart Carter(Heckmondwike-West Yorks) 14, Phil Howells(Spixworth-Norfolk) 14, Andrew Jackson(Wednesfield-West Midlands) 14, Martyn Hollebon(Hellingly-East Sussex) 13, Darren Bullock(Birmingham) 12, Glen Wildon(Ipswich-Suffolk) 12, Geoff Farrell(Tameside-Manchester) 12, Neil Johnson(Bury-Manchester) 10, Paul Share(Sandwell) 10, Chris Gregory(Horspath-Oxford) 9, Andy Pelling(Hellingly) 7, Nigel Wragg(Leicester) 7.



  • Paul Timms(1973-75)

  • Phil Widdas

1980s +.

  • Lee Ashman
  • Jon Best
  • Darren Bullock
  • Chris Butler
  • P. Gough
  • Darren Gumbley(1993)
  • Nick Harvey
  • Andy James(1986)
  • Dean Lander(1991)
  • Richard Lloyd
  • Kevin Marson
  • Bob Prince
  • Colin Reeve
  • M. Smith
  • Jim Varnish
  • Mark Winwood(1984)
  • Andy Woolley(1984)