Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Forest Gate Tigers

About the team

Team formed in 1946.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 1948/49.

Individual Honours.

1947 Ronnie "Tiger" Genz was the first winner of the East London Riders Championship.

1947 Ronnie "Tiger" Genz won the London Grand Prix(on January 25th). Runner-up was Keith Noble(Acton Aces), 3rd Harry Eyres(Becton Aces), and 4th John Lock(Stratford Hammers). The Winners Trophy was presented by Councillor D. Thorogood.

1948 Bert Hudson won the East London Riders Championship, runner-up Ken Randall(Becton Aces).

Team Honours.

1948 Runners-up in the East London Div 1 League.

Speedway Riders.

Ronnie Genz rode for New Cross - Oxford and Eastbourne.

Arthur Redman rode for New Cross.


  • Ossie Austin
  • Terry Brown
  • Ronnie "Tiger" Genz
  • Bert Hudson
  • Arthur Redman