Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Cradley Heath Kestrels

About the team

Lost their own original track in 1964, offered the use of the Quarry Bank track.

Shared track at the 'Plateau' with Quarry Bank Diamonds.

Raced in the Birmingham League 1962-1964.

Club Secretary: P. Allen, 6 High Avenue, Harcourt Road, Old Hill, Staffs(1964).

Club disbanded during 1964, their fixtures being taken over by Aldridge Hammers.

Individual Honours.

1962 Bernard Thompson won the Birmingham Senior Championship.

1963 Bernard Thompson won the Birmingham Senior Championship at Quarry Bank, runner up was Roger Ellis(Wolves).


  • B. Bishop
  • Graham Brimmell
  • Jim Clarke
  • Paul Dudley
  • A. Edwards
  • Mike Guest
  • D. Hackett
  • J. Hadley
  • Alan Homer
  • J. Humphries
  • Geoff Jones
  • S. Mason
  • Paul Pearson
  • G. Reeve
  • Bernard Thompson
  • Stephen Totney
  • Dave Underhill
  • M. Wheeler