Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Warwickshire: Earlsdon Hammers

About the team

Track was in Spencer Park, Spencer Road, Earlsdon, Coventry.

Club Secretary: Dai Lewis, 95 Moor Street, Earlsdon, Coventry(1960s).

Raced in the National League 1961(1st season of this new league).

Racing in the Coventry League 1964.

Raced in the Midland League.

Raced in the Coventry & District League 1974

Moved to Hearsal Common, Coventry.

Became known as Earlsdon Cycle Speedway Club(see entry).

Club Chairman/Secretary: Graham Court, The Scotchill, Coventry.

Team Manager: Dai Lewis(1965).

Team Manager: Will Truslove.

Individual Honours.

1960 Bob Colley won the Midland Riders Championship.

Team Honours.

1960 League Champions.

1960 Spring Cup Winners.

1973 won the Midland League, runners-up Stoke Potters, 3rd Wednesfield Aces, 4th Brandon Bees

Speedway Riders.

Pete Bailey rode for Ipswich.


  • Roger Adams
  • Dave Albrow
  • Peter Bailey
  • Joe Ball
  • Tim Bardon
  • Barrie Butler(capt)
  • G. Colledge
  • Bob Colley
  • K. Cox
  • Norrie Davenport
  • Dave Foster
  • Nigel Green
  • Ray Grocock
  • B. Hardie
  • Rob Hardie
  • P. Harris
  • John Harrison
  • Rob Hemming
  • Loz Hurley
  • Chris Jones
  • Ron Kempin
  • B. Lewis
  • D.R. Lewis
  • Ray Lewis
  • Roddy Lewis
  • Phil Lissaman
  • Geoff Loveridge
  • Mick Lynch
  • Brian Munns
  • Bob Oswin
  • Tony Roach
  • Bill Savage
  • Tony Savery
  • Barry Shapley
  • Paul Slater
  • Barry Smith
  • A. Summers
  • Barry Taylor
  • Mark Taylor
  • Mick Taylor
  • Malc Tollan
  • Mick Tromans
  • Will Truslove
  • Paul Turner
  • John Ward
  • Dave Watson
  • Ken Wilkins
  • Dave Williams