Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Perry Barr Juniors

About the team

Team formed in 1946.

Track was in the Birmingham Speedway Car park.

Regarded as one of the earlier Northern clubs.

Mr & Mrs Les Marshall, promoter and secretary of Birmingham Speedway respectively, took an active interest in the Juniors and supplied them with a complete set of helmet colours and a full quota of red and yellow jerseys previously worn by the Birmingham speedway riders.

Raced in the Birmingham League.

Club Secretary: Mr Peter Hook(1946).

Team Honours.

!947 won the Birmingham League.

Interesting Facts.

Travelled to West Ham, where they raced a team captained by Len Silver.

Raced against Bradford in the centre of the Odsal Stadium prior to a Speedway Meeting.

Raced against Norwich at the Firs Stadium prior to a Speedway Meeting.

The club riders organised a night meeting at the Hilltop Tigers track in Kingstanding in 1947. They placed jam jars with lit candles inside all around the inside line, and "Enlisted" some of the supporters with their bikes turned upside downto actuvate their Cycle Dynamo's to light up as much as the track as was possible. Was this the very first "Floodlit" Cycle Speedway match?

Speedway Riders.

Mike Lawrence rode for Brayfield - Leicester - Southern Rovers - Southern Brummies  and Wolverhampton.


  • Roy Blakey(capt)
  • Tom Blower
  • Billy Burke
  • John Hillcock
  • Peter Hook
  • Gordon Jones
  • Mike Lawrence
  • Jimmy Riley
  • George Sylvester