Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Staffordshire: Tamworth Stars

About the team

Track was in the gounds of the Vicarage, just behind the Church at Leyfields.

Formerly known as the Aldridge Hammers.

Raced in the Coventry League.

Club Secretary: John Heaton, 235 Masefield Drive, Leyfields, Tamworth, Staffs(1966).

Club disbanded in 1972.

Individual Honours.

1969 Joe Williams won the Coventry League Silver Sash match race championship.


  • Colin Bates
  • Trevor Bowles
  • Bob Bradley
  • Jim Clarke
  • Mick Clewer
  • B. Collins
  • K. Collins
  • Mick Flanaghan
  • J. Green
  • .... Hardie
  • Geoff Heaton
  • John Heaton
  • John Hound
  • John Humphries
  • Mick Lewis
  • Bob Prince
  • M. Rimmer
  • John Round
  • J. Taylor
  • Bernard Thompson
  • Tim Wall(capt)
  • Joe Williams