Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Wolverhampton Wolves

About the team

1st Track was in Inkerman Street, Wolverhampton(built 1949).

2nd Track was in Stowheath Lane in 1962(Inkerman Street track was worn out, showing razor sharp crystallized stones through the surface).

3rd Track was in Dixon Street, Wolverhampton

4th Track was in Hickman Avenue, Wolverhampton.

Raced in the Birmingham & District League 1962-1965.

Raced two teams in the Wolverhampton League 1965/66.

Club Secretary: Arthur Price, 134 Dixon Street, Wolverhampton(1965).

Club Manager/Secretary: Ron.M. Davies, 182 Merridale Street West, Wolverhampton(1963/64). 

Assistant Manager: Brian Buck(1963).

Individual Honours.

1964 Roger Ellis(15 max) won the Birmingham Senior Individual at Quarry Bank, runner-up Dave Underhill(14) of Netherton, 3rd Geoff Jones(11) of Birmingham Lions. This was the 2nd staging of the event, the first was stopped due to fog after all the riders had completed three rides.

Roger Ellis was the Birmingham Senior Individual Champion seven times.

Team Honours.

1962 won the Beehive Shield Tournament.

Speedway Riders.

Arthur Price rode for Boston(capt) - Halifax - Kings Lynn - Crayford - Cradley Heath.


Mid 1960s.

  • Chris Adams
  • Peter Allen
  • Tom Blest
  • A. Burton
  • .... Dale
  • Brian Ellis
  • Roger Ellis
  • R. Fletcher
  • Pat Gilchrist
  • Alan Green
  • Mark Griffiths
  • Tommy Guest
  • Dave Harris
  • R. Haywood
  • Tony Hickman
  • P. Jones
  • Dave Jukes
  • Royce Langston
  • Dave Meanley
  • Joe McGee
  • Trevor Moore(vice capt)
  • Mike Parry
  • Peter Phillips
  • Arthur "Pedro" Price(capt)
  • Mick Price
  • R. Reynolds
  • Pete Rhodes
  • .... Robinson
  • T. Shaw
  • T. Shepherd
  • A. Southern
  • D. Stanford
  • .... Taylor
  • .... Teasdale
  • Dave Wilkes
  • Dave Williams
  • Joe Williams