Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Wolverhampton Ace Cycles

About the team

Also raced as Womborn Bulldogs.

Track was in Phoenix Park, off Thompson Avenue(opposite the Black Horse P.H).

Club Honours.

The 1984 British Under 21 Individual Final was held at Phoenix Park. The Referee was Mr Dave Blinston(Greater Manchester). The winner was Jim Varnish(Birmingham) with a 20 point maximum. Runner-up was Martin Gale(Poole) after a run-off with Shawn Hall(Crawley-Sussex), both riders having scored 18 points. Other scorers: Paul Vaughan(Basildon-Essex) 16, Rob Gannon(Stoke) 15, Steve Mullinder(Wolverhampton) 14, Calvin Stevens(Sandwell-West Midlands) 14, John Cordery(Basildon) 13, Tim Snook(Great Blakenham-Suffolk) 13, Mike Bacon(Great Blakenham) 11, Phil Stephens(Southampton) 9, Stuart MacCabe(Thurrock-Essex) 9, Nigel Bishop(Wednesfield) 8, Ian Sizer(Bristol St George) 8, Neil Rose(Havant-Hants) 6, Anthony Nation(Poole) 5.


  • John Baugh
  • Mick Baugh
  • Merv Cooper
  • Gary Darby
  • Andy Gough
  • Mark Griffiths
  • Ian Howard
  • Dave Meanley
  • Phil Morgan
  • Steve Mullinder
  • Tony Mullinder
  • Colin Nicholls
  • Phil Round
  • Calvin Stevens
  • Steve Timmins