Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Northamptonshire: Duston Devils

About the team

Track was on Kerrfield Estate, Duston.

Duston is on the outskirts of Northampton.

One of the original teams to form the Northamptonshire Cycle Speedway Control Board in 1950. They were the only team at the time to have their own cycle speedway track. Raced in the league the same year.

Club Manager: R.B. Scotney, 54 Kerrfield Estate, Duston, Northampton. 

Individual Honours.

Ken Vine rode for England against Holland at the Empress Hall, London 1950.


  • Colin "Andy" Anderson
  • John "Dick" Bass
  • Roland "Whiskey" Bass
  • Sam Cherry
  • Neville Cook
  • Maurice "Riss" Cowley
  • Keith "Killer" Cox
  • Alan "Digger" Digby
  • Dick East
  • Bill "Shep" Harding
  • Donald "Duck" Hurst
  • Fred "Tuck" Hurst
  • Derek "Curley" Judge
  • Geoff "Jummer" Judge
  • Bob "Bobkin" Kingston
  • Neville "Baggy" Manning
  • Alan Paul
  • Fred "Freddie" Proctor
  • John "Sparrow" Shipperley
  • Pete Stewart
  • Michael "Mick" Tack
  • Ken Vine
  • Douglas "Butty" Walker
  • Bob Webb
  • Keith "Chink" Whiteley