Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Scotland - Lothian: Granton Griffins

About the team

Team was founded in 1947.

Track was in Griffin Park, Davidsons Mains, beside Ferry Road, about  3 miles NW of the centre of Edinburgh. On one side was the Princes Street Station to Barnton Railway line.

Track was built in the 1950s, and became one of the best known tracks in the area, being selected for test matches etc,.

Inner circle of the track was a giant hawser, donated by a trawler company from the Western side of Granton Harbour.

Club Hon Vice President: Mr W. Hall.

Club Secretary: Ian W. Branston, 5 Starbank Road, Edinburgh 5(1960s).

Racing in the Edinburgh League 1963/64.

Interesting Facts.

The mode of transport in the late 40s/early 50s was by TRAM CAR, flattening the handlebars and getting four bikes a time on board.


  • R. Amos
  • Ian Branston
  • S. Brown
  • P. Buckley
  • Tam Carlin(1966)
  • Eric Clark
  • Kenny "Milky" Clark(1966)
  • J. Craig
  • Gordon Currie
  • Alan 'Abs' Dickson
  • Henry Fenwick
  • Jack Fortune
  • .... Francey
  • Ian Fraser
  • G. Glen
  • Pedro Graham
  • Andrew Hall
  • Stephen "Jock" Harvey(77)
  • Bill Hogg
  • Kenny Hunter(1966)
  • .... Leslie
  • .... Lindsey
  • Bobby Littlejohn
  • .... MacNamee
  • I. McGinley
  • .... McGurk
  • John Mckellar(1964-67)
  • Billy McKenzie
  • Ken McKenzie
  • Billy McLean
  • "Spider" Miller
  • James Milson
  • Gerry Moore
  • Alan Mothyan
  • Johnny Murphy(1966)
  • A. Newlands
  • Dougie Noble(1966)
  • Graeme Palmer(1960s)
  • Dave Purves
  • Iain Purves
  • Alex Smith(1966)
  • David Stark(1966)
  • Allan Stewart
  • Johnny Stewart
  • Russel Tait(capt)
  • Eddy "Sonny" Thorpe
  • Ray Waldie(1966)
  • .... Ward
  • John Wilson