Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Scotland - Lothian: Meadowbank Stars

About the team

Track was at the old Meadowbank Speedway car park.

They then moved to Pilrig Park.

Club started by Bill Bowerbank & Dave Morris.

Club Secretary: D. Morris, 10 Dalgethy Street, Edinburgh 7(1960s).

Team Manager: Dave Morris(1961).

Team Manager: Ian Branston

Raced in the Edinburgh Autumn League 1961.

Racing in the Edinburgh League 1963/64.

Independent Honours.

John Murphy held the Edinburgh Match Race Championship throughout 1960 and 1961.

Interesting Facts.

Winning a trophy meeting immediately after an Edinburgh v Glasgow match, John Murphy became extremely embarassed when the young lady presenting the prizes demanded a kiss!!  

Speedway Riders.

Billy Murphy rode for Edinburgh.


  • .... Adams
  • Bill Bowerbank
  • Don Bowie
  • Don Currie
  • Bob Fleming
  • Aly Gibson
  • .... Grainger
  • Alan Hendry
  • Bill Hogg
  • .... Hughson
  • .... McCracken
  • .... McKinnon
  • Dave Morris
  • Billy Murphy
  • John Murphy
  • "Ibo" Robertson
  • Rockie Ronaldson
  • .... Sinclair
  • .... Stephen
  • Eddy "Sonny" Thorpe
  • Ray Waldie
  • .... Wood