Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Oxfordshire: Wallingford Panthers

About the team

Club formed in 1952.

Team Manager: Mr Les Footit(1952).

Team Manager: Mr Cecil Walder(1953).

Club Secretary: Les Footit(1953).

End of 1954 moved en bloc to Drayton St Leonards track, affiliating to NACSA and joining the Berkshire League.

Individual Honours.

1954 Freddie Tidmarsh won the Berkshire Individual Championship.

Team Honours.

1954 won the Berkshire League.

1954 won the St John's Cup and the Bragg Trophy..


  • Colin Allum
  • Colin Baldwin
  • Ted Brown(capt)
  • Eric Buckingham
  • Ken Bumpass
  • Harry Caistor
  • Des Hooper
  • Bryn Jones
  • Dave Rusher
  • Freddie Tidmarsh
  • Mick Wale
  • George Warwick
  • Roy Yates
  • Tony Yates(capt)