Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Wiltshire: Wroughton Racers

About the team

Raced in the Wiltshire League 1950s.

Disbanded in 1960.

Individual Honours.

1954 Malcolm Smith won the Wiltshire Individual Championship.

1958 Vernon Lister won the Wiltshire Senior Individual Championship, runner-up was Ken Irish(Heytesbury Hammers).

Team Honours.

1957 Wiltshire County Team Champions.

1958 Wiltshire County Team Champions, runners up Deverill Aces.

1958 Wiltshire League Knock-out champions.

1958 Wiltshire Senior League Runners-up.

1958 Wiltshire Junior League Champions, runners up Swindon Eagles.

1959 Wiltshire County Team Champions, beating Swindon Eagles 60-36.


  • M. Arkell
  • C. Gray
  • Alfie Hobbs
  • Mike Hudd
  • .... King
  • Vernon Lister
  • Mike Richards
  • Malcolm Smith