Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire South: Rowlinson CSC

About the team

Formed in 1983 following the construction of a new track at the Rowlinson Sports Centre.

The club began by staging Yorkshire League matches and using several guest riders, such as Chris Harrison and Peter young from Leicester, Martin Gamble from Halifax and Darryl and Andy Sawbridge from Castle Donnington.

The club ceased to exist when they merged with other Sheffield clubs, namely Stradbroke and Parkwood (although Stocksbridge remained independent)to join the British League North in time for the 1985 season.

Thereafter, the new Sheffield club used Parkwood as a base, until reverting to Rowlinson for prime home matches two years later. The Sports Centre was re-built in time for the 1991 World Student Games when it was renamed the Graves Tennis & Leisure Centre, still the home of the Sheffield club today.

The original track has been bulldozed and re-built, opening in June 2011.


  • Russ Gamble
  • Dave Layden
  • Dave Robinson
  • Andy Sawbridge