Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire South: Sheffield Tigers

About the team

The 1st track was built in the Owlerton Speedway Stadium car park, the club being started by Barry Smith.

The 2nd Track was in Earl Marshall Road, Fir Vale, Sheffield. This was built over 2 disused tennis courts.

Track surface was shale, Length 79yds, Grade 4.

Raced in the Sheffield League 1967.

Raced in the Northern Premier League Div 2.

Club Secretary: A.F. Chalmers, 76 Barrie Road, Southey, Sheffield 5(1966).

Speedway Riders.

Rodney Haynes rode for Scunthorpe and Sheffield.


  • Keith Burgin
  • R. Burgin
  • Alan Chalmers
  • Malc Cooper
  • J. Fountain
  • Rodney Haynes
  • Keith Howe
  • Pete Howe
  • Andy Mitchell
  • Tony Mitchell
  • B. Saunby
  • Barry Smith
  • Terry Wilson
  • Rowdy Yates