Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire South: South Yorkshire CSC

About the team

Club was formed by the amalgamation of Stradbroke and Parkwood clubs in 1975.

Track was on Richmond Park, off Hunters Lane, Intake, Sheffield.

Track Dimensions: 77yards x 5yards, red shale surface.

Club Colours: Green/Yellow/Navy shirts or Navy/Sky shirts, Navy trousers, Green socks.

Club Secretary/Treasurer: Martin Gamble, 2 Overton Road, Sheffield(1978).

The merrie-go-round of Sheffield riders joining and leaving clubs at will created instability and the competition to form the best run club in the city simply destroyed them all.

Both Parkwood and Stradbroke had suffered rider losses in the early 1970s, as the sport declined rapidly in Sheffield during this period, and merger policies simply accelerated this decline.

For a season, the club competed in the Northern Premier League First Division, but the quality of their riders led to Second Division status the following year. By the end of the 1970s, the club had splintered again and the South Yorkshire club were no more.



  • R. Gamble
  • C. Hobson
  • D. Lidget
  • Dave Robinson
  • P. Robinson
  • Steve Stringer
  • R. Turner
  • Pat Woodcock
  • Paul Woodcock