Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire West: Bowling Aces

About the team

Track in Parry Lane, Bradford 4.

Raced in the Yorkshire League as well as the West Riding League.

Raced in the Bradford League 1961.

Club Secretary: J.L. Burnley, 301 Bowling Hall Road, Dudley Hill, Bradford 3(1960s).

Individual Honours.

1961 Clive Brooke(13) won the Yorkshire Riders Individual after a run off with Dave Johnstone(2nd) and Robin Wells(3rd) from Horton.

Team Honours.

1961 were the Yorkshire League Champions, beating Elmfield Eagles by just the one superior point. 



  • Dave Adstick
  • Brian Bastow
  • Dave Bollard
  • Clive Brooke
  • John Burnley
  • Mike Cockroft
  • Malc Dunnill
  • .... Dwyer
  • Pete Dyson
  • Ken Fearn(capt)
  • John Gifford
  • Trevor Green
  • Bob Hopkinson
  • Graham Inskip
  • Dave Johnston(capt)
  • .... Lister
  • B. Marjerison
  • John Milner
  • Dave Nidgley
  • George Spence
  • Ian Thomas
  • George Waddington


  • Dave Barnes
  • S. Bennett
  • F. Nutter
  • S. Jarvis
  • Andrew Pickard
  • Dave Rider
  • S. Rider
  • W. Rider
  • I. Roper
  • I. Wild