Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire West: Horton Rangers

About the team

Team based in Bradford.

Club Secretary: Mike Cockcroft, 13 Flaxton Place, Lidget Green, Bradford 7(1960s).

Club Secretary: J.M. Cockroft, Far Royd Farm, Shay Lane, Ovenden, Halifax, Yorks(1965).

Individual Honours.

David Burnett won the Yorkshire Individual Championship(year not known).

Robin Wells won the Yorkshire Individual Championship(year not known).

1962 Mike Cockroft won the Yorkshire Riders Individual Final with 13 points, after a run-off with Jim Meadowcroft(Elmfield Eagles). 3rd was Robin Wells(Horton Rangers) on 12 points.

1962 Dave Northrop(15) won the Yorkshire Junior Individual, runner up was Dave Goodall, and 3rd was Steve Barraclough.


  • .... Asquith
  • Steve Barraclough
  • .... Bastow
  • David Burnett
  • Mike Cockroft
  • Pete Dyson
  • Dave Goodall
  • .... Harrison
  • Mark Kent
  • .... Newsholme
  • Dave Northrop
  • .... Ormondroyd
  • .... Schofield
  • Les Smith
  • .... Spence
  • Ian Thomas
  • Pete Thompson
  • Dave Thorne
  • Colin Verity
  • Geoff Waddington
  • Fred Walker
  • Robin Wells
  • Barry Williams