Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire West: Lindale Lions

About the team

Team based in Wakefield.

1959 rode in the Manchester, Stockport & District League. Also rode in the Yorkshire League.

Club Secretary: M. Adams, 39 Burnham Avenue, Bierley, Bradford 4, Yorks(1964).

Club Secretary: P.G. Gregory, 7 Wareham Corner, Holmewood, Bradford 4, Yorks(1965).

Individual Honours.

1959 Clive Brooke won the Yorkshire Riders Championship after a four way run-off with Vickers, Johnston & Mike Cockroft.

1960 Peter Bates won the Yorkshire Junior Individual.

1961 Peter Bates won the Yorkshire Junior Individual, runner up was Jim Meadowcroft, after a run-off with David Burnett.


  • Trevor Ashton
  • Dave Bates
  • Pete Bates
  • Nick Bedford
  • Clive Brooke
  • Mike Cockroft
  • Malc Dunnill
  • Mick Gregory
  • Pete Gregory
  • G. Hosslo
  • Tony Hunt
  • Pete Johnson
  • Dave Johnston
  • Cam Ormondroyd
  • Ian Paton
  • D. Ramsden
  • Jack Shaw
  • John Sutcliffe
  • Mel Vickers
  • J. Whitehouse