Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London South East: Honor Oak Aces

About the team

Track was in Acroyd Road, Forest Hill SE23.

Team formed in 1947.

Club Secretary: V. Winter, 209 Devonshire Road, Forest Hill.

Raced in the South East London League.

Raced in the First Round of the "World" Cup in 1949, losing to Stadium Stars(Essex) 51.5 - 44.5 in the 1st leg. Top Scorer: E. Bulmer 11.

Speedway Riders.

Pete Jarman rode for Stoke - Oxford - Eastbourne - Wolverhampton and Cradley Heath, before finishing as an ACU track inspector.


  • B. Allart
  • C. Bulmer
  • E. Bulmer
  • A. Davies
  • Terry Eldridge
  • R. Elwood
  • Al Gibbs
  • S. Glover
  • Joe Goody
  • Billy Ingram
  • Pete Jarman
  • Ron Johnson
  • J. Larden
  • Sid McAvoy
  • R. Osborne
  • Don Ross
  • V. Shelford
  • C. Steele
  • Vic Winter
  • F. Wooster