Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Staffordshire: Stoke Potters

About the team

Track was on the Smallwood Playing Fields, Compton Street, off Sun Lane, Shelton, Stoke-on-Trent.

Track Dimensions: 85yards x 20 ft, grey granite surface(1978).

Club Colours: Red/White striped shirts with Black trim, Black trousers, Black socks with Red/White tops or Red shirts and socks, Black trousers, White Red race jackets with five Red "Stars" on a White background.

Sponsored by Swinnerton Cycle Sport(1978).

The team were originally known as the Shelton Tigers, the name change taking place in 1973, due to the Speedway team being named the Stoke Potters.

Club President: B. Massey.

Club Manager: Alan Pennington(till 1977).

Club Secretary: Gene Bailey, 82 Rowley Avenue, Chesterton, Newcastle, Staffs(1978).

Club Manager: Mike Hack(1978).

Competed in both the Midland and Northern Premier League.

Changed name to the Stoke-on-Trent Whiterock Cycles in the 1980s.

Team Honours.

Won the 2nd Division of the latter in 1977.


1973 +.

  • Anthony Ankers
  • Chris Bailey
  • Gene Bailey
  • Russell Barton
  • Lance Bates
  • Simon Baultkauls
  • Steve Beach
  • Robert Brown
  • Paul Chaddock
  • Martin Collins
  • Dave Dale
  • Doug Davis
  • Dave Dunlop
  • Jeff Dunn
  • Paul Edwards
  • Karl Fernyhough
  • Steve Forrester
  • Dave Foster
  • Andy Franks
  • Rob Gannon
  • Martin Garratt
  • Mike Hack
  • Andy Harvey
  • Steve Hassall
  • Paul Hopley
  • Alan Hughes
  • George Hughes
  • Rob Machin
  • Dave McCue
  • Steve Moss
  • Stuart Oakes
  • Alan Pennington
  • Dave Pratt
  • Roy Salt
  • Keith Scragg
  • Dave Sidley
  • Peter Smith
  • Gerry Stockton
  • Martin Stubbs
  • Graham Titley
  • Chris Tudor
  • Jim Vickerman
  • Dave Washington
  • Paul Wooliscroft
  • Steve Wyatt
  • Robert Yates