Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Foulston Eagles

About the team

Track was on Waste Land at the bottom of Rennie Avenue, St Budeaux, Plymouth.

Club Chairman: Mr Miles.

Club Secretary: Fred Millington.

Team Manager: Mr Osborne.

Team Mechanic: Mr W. Hoskin.

Committee Member: Mr Curtain.

Club Secretary: E. Osborne, 12A Foulston Avenue, St Budeaux, Plymouth.

Club Secretary: B. Spedding, 81 Admiralty Street, Stonehouse, Plymouth, Devon(1964).

Raced in the Plymouth & District League 1963.

Raced in the Devon League.

Individual Honours.

1950 Alan Dabinette won the Plymouth Individual Championship, 2nd Rex Grayling, 3rd Marshall(Plymstock Lions).

1950 Ray Hood & Keith Williams won the Plymouth Best Pairs. 2nd were A. Scope & Chapman(Laira Wasps), 3rd Eddy & Nicholls(Plymstock Lions).

Team Honours.

1949 won The Battle of Britain Trophy, beating the Flying Devils 84-83 on aggregate.

1049 won the Plymouth Cup Championship, beating the Flying Devils 81-80.

1959 won the Club Championships during Carnival week in front of 5,000 spectators, beating Manadon Lightnings by just three points.

1950 won the Plymouth League.

1954 won the Devon County Team Championship.

Speedway Riders.

Alan Dabinette rode for Plymouth.


  • Eric Abbott
  • Dave Blackmore
  • Pete Coleman
  • Alan Dabinette
  • Colin Davis
  • Brian Glynn
  • Gerald Gould
  • Jack Greenwood
  • Herby Hallett
  • Brian Harvey
  • Ray Hood
  • Bill Horsham
  • Rob Kiler
  • P "Ginger" Mitchell
  • Dave Oats
  • Dave Osbourne
  • Frank Osbourne
  • ...... Parker
  • Dave Pearn
  • Alan Pritchett
  • Ron Richardson
  • Alan Royle
  • Brian Spedding
  • Brian Sugden
  • Larry Taylor(capt)
  • Dave Tricker
  • Larry Tricker
  • Dave Tucker
  • Cecil Watkins
  • Keith Williams