Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North West: Kenton Hawks

About the team.

Team formed in 1947 by Christopher "Trigger" Tredidgo and Ken Wakerly.

Not allowed to use their own track in Kenton(1948) for League racing as it was considered too narrow.

Raced all their home meetings on the Kingsbury Tigers Track in Kingsbury Circle.

Raced in the Wembley League 1948.

Their new track was on Northwick Park.

In 1949 were given permission to use a disused tennis court, near Preston Road Station. This was tarmac based, and possibly the first tarmac track in the Country.

In 1949 competed in the newly formed second division.

Also a  track at The Paddocks, Wembley. Took this over from Sudbury Court Flyers.

Became the Preston Eagles for a short period, before reverting back to the Kenton Hawks.

Club Secretary: R. Gadsby, 1 Charlton Road, Kenton, Middlesex.


  • Fred Brain
  • Tom Brown
  • Bill Gadsby(1947-49)
  • Johnny Huth
  • Den Kirby
  • Ron Palmer
  • Terry Pett
  • Eric Rowe
  • Brian Shuttleworth
  • Chris "Trigger" Tredidgo
  • Ken Wakerley
  • Johnny Warner