Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Tyne & Wear: Newcastle Vikings

About the team

1st track was at 'Top of the Fossway', 100yds from Brough park. This was where the Fire Station once stood, opposite the Turbinia Pub.

2nd track was off Moorland Crescent, Watergate, 1/4 mile from Brough Park(1964-65).

3rd track was on Monkchester Recreation Ground(1965-68).

4th track was in Eastfield Avenue(1968-70).

Club Manager: Jack Hiscock.

Team Manager: Ernie Kirkup.

Club Secretary: Ray Turner, 58 Ninth Avenue, Heaton, Newcastle-on-Tyne(1966).


  • Tony Arrowsmith
  • Gerry "Gess" Atkinson
  • Peter Burns
  • Norman Carson(capt)
  • Micky Dobson
  • Gordon Dominy
  • Ritchie Dummler
  • Keith Dyer
  • Jimmy Graham
  • C. Grant
  • L. Henderson
  • N. Henzell
  • Jim Hewitson
  • Bruce Hiscock
  • Mick Hoult
  • John Hyam
  • Kenny Kerr
  • Ernie Kirkup
  • Terry Kirkup
  • Jim McBeth
  • Eddie Murray
  • Alan Paterson
  • G. Reed
  • Barry Smith
  • Jim Smith
  • Gordon Stobbs
  • George Taylor
  • Kenny Tiffen
  • Ray Turner
  • Ray Wilburn