Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Wiltshire: Rodbourne Rockets

About the team

Track was on Browns Field, at the bottom of Morris Street, Rodbourne, Swindon. The site is now occupied by semi detached houses.

The track was built in 1948 using ash from the local railway.

Club Manager: Mr Webb.

Club Secretary: Stan W. Holmes, 19 Guppy Street, Swindon, Wilts.

Racing 1950s.

Raced in the Swindon League 1970s.

Individual Honours.

1951 Barry Telling was Wiltshire County Champion. The silver helmet was presented to him by Petula Clark.

1952 Mick Fisher was Wiltshire County Champion, after a run off with team mate Brian Cosway, both scoring 14 points. The golden helmet was presented to Mick by Zena Marshall, who went on to play Miss Taro in the James Bond film 'Dr No'.

1952 Mick Fisher won the Mars Silver Helmet.

Club Honours.

Team were Wiltshire County Champions 1952.



  • Roger Brooks
  • Brian Cosway
  • B. Cowley(mascot)
  • Dave Cowley
  • Dennis Cowley
  • Don Cowley
  • Mick Fisher
  • Fred Garrard
  • Dave "Doggy" Jones
  • Alan Kennett
  • Dave Poole
  • Dick Poole
  • Ron Skeates
  • B. Spurr
  • Herbie Spurr
  • Barrie Telling(capt)
  • Mike Webb


  • Martin Glover
  • Steve Harrison
  • Ivor Keeping