Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Dorset: Oakdale Saints(1970s)

About the team

Team reintroduced in the 1970s.

Named after the original Oakdale Saints of the late 40s, who went on to become the Gem Pirates.

Track was at Stanley Green Park, home of the Poole Comets.

Raced under the Comets Management team.

Raced in the Bournemouth & Poole League(started 1974).

Team Colours: Red Shirts, Red/White body colours.

Team Honours.

1977 won the Bournemouth & Poole League Division one on points advantage over Broadstone Bulldogs, with Tatnum in 3rd place.


  • John Bryant
  • Phil Cake
  • Andy Carry
  • P. Chunn
  • A. Coleman
  • B. Curtis
  • Ray Hall
  • L. Henderson
  • Malcolm Jacobs
  • Martin Jacobs
  • A. McDonough
  • I. McKenzie
  • T. Orchard
  • Tim Standfield
  • Kevin Stokes
  • Leigh Town
  • Ken Wiffen
  • Paul Youngman