Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Torquay Pirates

About the team.

Original team were racing in 1947.

1st track was in Lymington Road, Torquay.

New track was built in Walls Hill Quarry in 1948.

Raced in the Teign & District League early 1950s.

Team Manager: Tony Mann.

Team reformed in 1962.


  • Dave Aston
  • Frank Bright
  • John "Buster" Burnett
  • S. Davis
  • M. Dymond
  • Tony Everard
  • Les Folkard
  • John "Gusty" Gale
  • Bernard "Pud" Gooding
  • Bob Horne
  • John Horne
  • Frank Hutchinson
  • Tony Mann
  • John Newman
  • Micky Parr
  • Derek Sculpher
  • Mike Williams(capt)