Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Wiltshire: Swindon Monarchs

About the team

Founded in 1973.

Team originated at Hungerford, calling themselves Swindon.

Moved to a track at the Oasis Sports & Swimming Centre, Ferndale Road, Swindon.

Track Dimensions: 95yards x 18ft, shale surface.

Club Colours: Yellow shirts with Blue trim, Black trousers, Blue/Yellow socks or Blue shirts with White trim, Black trousers, Blue socks.

Raced in the English League 1974/75/76.

Raced in the Western League 1981/82.

Club President: G. White(1975).

Club Chairman: J. Horsburgh(1975).

Club Secretary: A.W. Page(1975).

Club Treasurer: Alan Attoe(1975).

Club Chairman/Secretary: Alan Attoe, 8 Barra Close, Highworth, Swindon(1978). 

Vice Chairman/Asst Secretary: A. Say(1978).

Club Chairman: Mr B. Harrison(1979).

Club Secretary: Mr D. Hemmett(1979).

Club Treasurer: Mr J. Gallagher(1979).

Team Manager: Ron Byford(1979).

Interesting Facts.

1980 staged the first National Indoor for 30 years at the Oasis Leisure Centre, this being sponsored by the Daily Mirror.

1981 again staged the National Indoor, which was again sponsored by the Daily Mirror, with the meeting shown on ITV World of Sport.

1982 took some young riders to Holland for The Indoor World of Speed which was held at the Ahoy Stadium. Unfortunately the Cycle Speedway Council didn't agree with this venture, resulting in Ron Byford resigning at the end of 1982.

Ron went on to help the Swindon Sprockets Junior Speedway team in 1982/83, then managed the Exeter Junior Team, who won the National Junior Speedway Title in 1984, beating Ipswich in the final.

In 1985/86 Ron Managed the Exeter Senior Speedway Team, before returning to Swindon as Co Promoter & Team Manager from 1987 to 1993.

Ron's grandson is Shaun Rudman, who's father is Vic Rudman.

Speedway Riders.

Alun Rossiter.


  • Simon Anderson
  • Alan Attoe
  • M. Bailey
  • Pete Bennet
  • Steve Bull
  • B. Butterfield
  • Barry Byford
  • "Rocket" Ron Byford
  • Nigel Clapman
  • Paul Cook
  • N. Crawford
  • Shaun Crawford
  • Derek Emmett
  • Ade Fisher
  • Mike Ford
  • Vic Franklyn
  • John Gallagher
  • Marco Gambi
  • Nigel Gee
  • Tristram Glass
  • Martin Glover
  • Steve Goodwin
  • Mark Hammond
  • Gary Hancock
  • P. Hannon
  • Steve Harrison
  • Derek Hemmett
  • Bob Henshall(capt)
  • Martin Hewlett
  • Colin Jeffries
  • Paul Jeffries
  • Colin Jones
  • S. Lillywhite
  • R. Mapple Thorpe
  • Paul Mathews
  • C. Meadow
  • Mick Page
  • Alan Roberts
  • Ian Robinson
  • Alun Rossiter
  • Phil Rudman
  • Tony Rudman
  • Vic Rudman
  • Phil Speck
  • Jim Sullivan
  • Roy Talmage
  • M. Veal
  • Billy Wills(capt)